Richard L. Hughes Law

Testimonials

Rick is an extremely competent leader, attorney and manager. He possesses excellent verbal, written and interpersonal communication skills.

Brian Chikowski Attorney September 18, 2015

Rick effectively manages the dual roles of administrator and legal counsel. Both in his work with staff and consultants, and in his preparation for and presentations to the LOTT Board, he demonstrates thoughtful and practical approaches to address the agency objectives.

Stephen DiJulio Owner, Foster Pepper PLLC September 18, 2015

Rick is a consummate professional and wonderful to work with. Rick commands respect in the legal realm and is an exceptional CAO. He brings a very positive esprit de corps to the organization and is highly effective at managing. He is a holistic thinker and sees the broad, complex issues facing an organization which need attention. It’s a pleasure to work with Rick and I always look forward to that opportunity.

Gaylan Sher-Jan Chief People Officer - Interim at ZOOM+ September 18, 2015

I’ve worked with Rick in connection with a complex and major LOTT Alliance project in the Port of Olympia. Rick is an intelligent, well-organized, and practical manager, who provides insight, leadership, and direction to the project. He is also very personable and seems to enjoy providing leadership and quality service to the LOTT Alliance.

Maggie Yowell Attorney at Law, JD, MA, LMHC, GMHS, MHP, RDT September 18, 2015

As an attorney in the Olympia area and serving on a variety of boards and commissions, I have had the opportunity to work with Rick Hughes in his capacity as the Chief Administrative Officer and General Legal Counsel for LOTT as well as in a variety of community groups where he graciously provides his time an expertise. He is an excellent communicator and has unique skills in providing the attention to details that are needed in both of the above areas. Rick also has the ability to build consensus while working through competing interests of budgetary constraints and completion of projects. He is viewed as a leader in the community and always makes himself available to assist other governmental entities and community groups.

Charles “Skip” Houser Pope, Houser, and Barnes, Attorneys at Law September 18, 2015

It has been my pleasure to participate with Rick in pursuit of changing the way labor relations professionals practice their craft. The conventional, adversarial paradigm is clearly no longer appropriate for our current realities, nor has it been for many decades. One of the challenges we face is illustrating to a skeptical profession, unconsciously competent in their adversarial assumptions this “better way”!

Rick has been invaluable to helping this cultural change find traction. His work at LOTT as a practitioner, his initiative taking through the Labor Management Institute, and his approach as a teacher speak to this fact. According to futurist and author Joel Barker a leader is one who sees two paradigms at the same time and helps those who see neither one move from the paradigm that is no longer viable into the one that is. This definition clearly fits Rick Hughes.

Steve Barber Consultant, Facilitator, Trainer in Collaborative Decision Making September 18, 2015

I served with Rick Hughes for four years on the Together Board of Directors, where he was President and I was Vice President.

Rick is an incredible leader and a valuable community asset. He’s collaborative, drawing input from all. He readily tackles difficult issues with intelligence and grace, while retaining an infectious optimism for a positive future. He’s a servant leader, modeling commitment and hard work, and openly recognizing others for their ideas and actions. He’s an approachable and genuinely kind man who believes in giving back. The Olympia community is lucky to have someone as gifted as Rick working for us!

Celia Nightingale Director, South Puget Sound Business Resource Center September 18, 2015

It was always a pleasure to work with Rick. He quickly understands issues and complexity, has a very clear mind and provided helpful advice and solutions. Rick usually sees the problem two or three steps ahead and his advice is, therefore, comprehensive helping to avoid future problems that may arise.

Rick has my unreserved recommendation.

Michael Matthias Assistant City Manager at Des Moines, WA September 18, 2015

Rick Hughes is highly skilled, highly ethical and highly committed. As a Board Member as well as in his role as Board President for TOGETHER!, he advised our agency on everything from long-term lease negotiation, human resources, risk management, policy and much more over 5+ years. His professionalism and dedication are outstanding, and his contributions to the agency cannot be measured.

Rick is a top notch lawyer and advocate. I trust his judgement and would entrust legal matters of all kinds to his office.

Meghan Sullivan, MPA, CHES, CPP Specializing in Public Health, Public Policy & Nonprofit Leadership September 18, 2015

Rick has admirable leadership skills. He responds rather than reacts to situations. He creates an environment conducive to creative ideas and collaboration. Rick is extremely intelligent, too.

John Hutchings, Retired — Olympia Police Department May 2, 2015

I highly commend Rick's conscientiousness, intelligence and values-based leadership. He models impeccable integrity in every interaction in which we engage.

Rebecca Perry Leadership / Team Consultant. Executive Coach. Conflict Resolution. May 2, 2015

At the time, I was Mayor of the City of Lacey, Washington and served on the LOTT Board of Directors. Rick demonstrated all the qualities I desire in a corporate executive. Additionally, Rick is a pleasure to work with.

Graeme Sackrison Board Chair, Thurston Climate Action Team (TCAT) May 2, 2015

It has been my pleasure to participate with Rick in pursuit of changing the way labor relations professionals practice their craft. The conventional, adversarial paradigm is clearly no longer appropriate for our current realities, nor has it been for many decades. One of the challenges we face is illustrating to a skeptical profession, unconsciously competent in their adversarial assumptions this "better way"! Rick has been invaluable to helping this cultural change find traction. His work at LOTT as a practitioner, his initiative taking through the Labor Management Institute, and his approach as a teacher speak to this fact. According to futurist and author Joel Barker a leader is one who sees two paradigms at the same time and helps those who see neither one move from the paradigm that is no longer viable into the one that is. This definition clearly fits Rick Hughes.

Steve Barber Consultant, Facilitator, Trainer in Collaborative Decision Making May 2, 2015

Rick has always impressed me as a very knowledgeable individual who demonstrates high integrity in all of the business dealings he oversees as the General Counsel at the LOTT Alliance. He has a warm friendly disposition, is a good listener, and has a welcoming personality. He has a difficult position working with several elected officials from various cities and the county at the same time. He has been very successful in coordinating that multi-jurisdictional position. His opinions and legal advice in this area are highly regarded by those on the board that he serves. His integrity and high moral values are beyond reproach.

Bill McGregor Port Commissioner, Port of Olympia May 2, 2015

I have worked with Rick for over 4 years now on various legal matters and as a co-presenter at a conference. It is always a pleasure to work with Rick. His legal skills are top notch. I am always impressed at the way he analyzes a situation; he always keeps the law in mind, yet is able to come up with a practical solution for all involved. While for most it is difficult to master balancing the law with a practical approach, Rick excels at this approach. I would recommend Rick without reservation.

Rosa Fruehling-Watson Manager, Senior Employment Counsel at Nordstrom May 2, 2015

I have had the opportunity to work with Rick on numerous issues during the last ten years. My most recent experience was when Cascade Water Alliance worked closely with Rick and LOTT both developing new legislation to allow regional organizations like Cascade and LOTT to be established and we worked successfully with the Legislature to successfully procure new statutory authority conferring the appropriate powers and authority. Throughout this work Rick was thoughtful, fully engaged and a significant contributor. I believe Rick is highly qualified and an exceptional General Counsel.

Chuck Clarke Chief Executive Officer, Cascade Water Alliance May 2, 2015

Rick is a highly experienced attorney who has the ability to listen to clients so that he can help them achieve their objectives. He has business acumen and also understands public agency legal issues.

Tom Carroll President and Chief Executive Officer at Tiburon Systems LLC May 2, 2015

Disclaimer:  Testimonials are not a guarantee of future performance and should not be construed as such.